Council of Municipal Court Judges Elects New Officers, Gives Awards

Jekyll Island, GA — The Council of Municipal Court Judges elected new officers and executive committee members on June 25, 2015, at its annual meeting held on Jekyll Island. The 2015- 2016 officers are: President Leslie Spornberger Jones, Municipal Court of Athens-Clarke County; President-Elect Gary E. Jackson, Municipal Court of Atlanta; Vice President Douglas Andrews, Municipal Court of Pooler; Secretary LaTisha Dear, Municipal Court of Stone Mountain; and Treasurer John “Clay” Davis, Municipal Court of Lovejoy.

The Council recognized a number of municipal judges with awards. Judge Charles Barrett, Duluth, received the Frost Ward Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a municipal court judge who has made significant contributions to the Council of Municipal Court Judges over a long period of time.

The Council’s President’s Award was awarded posthumously to Judge James Tillman Payne, Acworth, for his dedication, commitment, and resourcefulness. The Department of Driver Services was recognized with the President’s Award for its service to the justice system.

Three Special Recognition Awards were presented. Judge Leslie Spornberger Jones, Athens-Clarke County, was recognized for a coloring book she created to tell children coming to court with parents about the judicial system. Judge Donald Schaefer, Johns Creek, was recognized for the City of Johns Creek’s STOP Program, which educates inexperienced drivers between the ages of 17-20 of the law. Judge Vernita Lee Bender, Valdosta, was lauded for educating youth on civic responsibility through the City of Valdosta’s Mock Trial Program.