Council of Municipal Court Judges Elects Officers, Celebrates 20 Years

Jekyll Island, GA — On June 25-27, 2014, the Council of Municipal Court Judges met in Jekyll Island for its Annual Summer Law and Practice Update Seminar.  The Annual Seminar is held in conjunction with the Council’s business meeting each summer.  
Elections for the Council’s executive council were held. Newly elected officers include Judge E.R. Lanier (Monticello), President; Judge Leslie Spornberger Jones (Athens), President-Elect; Judge Gary E. Jackson (Atlanta), Vice President; Judge Nelly F. Withers (DeKalb Recorders’ Court), Secretary; and Judge John Clayton Davis (Stockbridge), Treasurer.

Additionally, the Council celebrated its 20th Anniversary.  Presiding Judge John J. Ellington, Court of Appeals, spoke to the assembled judges at their dinner.  Other guests included Judge Chase Daughtrey, President, Council of Probate Court Judges; Judge Betsey Kidwell, President, Council of Magistrate Court Judges (CMagCJ), and Judge Allen Wigington, President-Elect, CMagCJ, and Representative-Elect Jeff Jones (R-167).

Each year, the Council distributes several awards to honor its membership.  Chief Judge Dennis Still, Lawrenceville, received the Frost Ward Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a judge who has made significant contributions to the Council of Municipal Court Judges over many years.


Recipients of the Special Recognition Award were Judge James T. Johnson (Jasper); Judge Hammond Law (Gainesville); and Judge Timothy McCreary (Temple). The Special Recognition Award honors innovative or deserving municipal courts or judges.


Judge Gary E. Jackson (Atlanta) received the President’s Award for his activities during the 2014 General Assembly. The Council also acknowledged several legislators for their support during the 2014 Session: Rep. Mark Hamilton (R-24), Rep. Barry Fleming (R-121), and Sen. Hunter Hill (R-6).