Supreme Court Justices Appointed to Georgia Commission on Dispute Resolution


Feb. 7, 2017                                                                                                                                   


Justice Keith Blackwell, Justice Britt Grant, Tracy Johnson, Executive Director, ODR, Judge Charles Auslander, Chair, ODRAtlanta, GA — Chief Justice P. Harris Hines of the Supreme Court of Georgia has appointed Justice Keith R. Blackwell and Justice Britt C. Grant to the Georgia Commission on Dispute Resolution. They were sworn in Feb. 1, 2017.


            “The Commission is honored that two such accomplished and highly regarded judicial leaders will help guide the Commission’s continued work of providing the citizens of Georgia with high-quality, cost-effective alternatives to traditional litigation,” said Chair Judge Charles E. Auslander III of the State Court of Athens-Clarke County.


            The Supreme Court established the Commission on Dispute Resolution to administer a statewide Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Program to approve, develop, and govern court programs, training criteria, and standards of conduct and qualifications for all registered “neutrals” – mediators and arbitrators.  The 18 members of the Commission include representatives of Georgia’s appellate and trial courts, representatives of the General Assembly and the State Bar of Georgia, approved trainers and registered mediators and arbitrators, and other professionals with an interest in dispute resolution.


 Dispute resolution processes such as mediation, non-binding arbitration, and case evaluation offer Georgia litigants lower-cost choices for resolving their differences while helping courts save scarce resources for those cases that cannot be resolved without judge or jury. For more information on the Commission, please click here.