Council of Municipal Court Judges Elects New Officers, Gives Awards

June 29, 2017

Savannah, GA — The Council of Municipal Court Judges was welcomed by the Honorable Eddie DeLoach, Mayor of Savannah, on June 22, 2017, at the Marriott Savannah Riverfront where it conducted its annual summer Law and Practice Update and business meeting. Topics of the Law and Practice Update included Ethics Issues; Fees, Fines & Surcharges in the Adult Probation System; Probation; Case Law; and Department of Drivers Services Traffic Law Update. Justice Michael Boggs spoke to the Council about the work of the Criminal Justice Reform Council and administered oaths of office.

The Council elected new officers for 2017-2018: President Judge LaTisha Dear Jackson, Municipal Court of Stone Mountain; President-Elect Judge Matthew McCord, Municipal Court of Stockbridge; Vice President Judge Dale “Bubba” Samuels, Municipal Courts of Franklin Springs and Monroe; Secretary Judge JaDawnya Butler, Municipal Court of Atlanta; and Treasurer Judge John “Clay” Davis, Municipal Court of Lovejoy.

The Council recognized a number of municipal judges with awards. Chief Judge David Mecklin, Municipal Court of Bremen, received the Frost Ward Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a municipal court judge who has made significant contributions to the Council of Municipal Court Judges over a long period of time. 

The Council’s President’s Award was awarded to Justice Michael Boggs, Supreme Court of Georgia, for his work championing Criminal Justice Reform; Chief Judge Charles Barrett, Municipal Court of Duluth, and Judge Thomas Bobbitt III, Municipal Courts of Jeffersonville and Soperton, were recognized for their legislative work for 2017; Chief Judge Margaret Washburn, Municipal Court of Sugar Hill;  Ms. Vicki Judd, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Driver Services; Mr. James Rodatus, JC/AOC; and Ms. LaShawn Murphy, JC/AOC, were recognized with Outstanding Service Awards.

Judge Terry Wheeler, Municipal Courts of Aragon and Kingston, was awarded the Special Recognition Award for his innovation, creativity, and conscientious efforts of ensuring his court is fair and impartial. The Council’s 2017 Legislative Award was presented to Representative Scott Hilton, sponsor of HB 370, for diligent and unwavering support of the Council in the General Assembly.

Judge Glen Ashman, Municipal Court of East Point, was recognized as the inaugural recipient of the Council’s Education Award which will be known as the Glen Ashman Education Award.