Council of Magistrate Court Judges Elects New Officers, Gives Awards

Lake Lanier, GA — The Council of Magistrate Court Judges elected new officers and executive committee members on May 18, 2015, at its annual meeting held at Lake Lanier Islands’ Legacy Lodge.  The 2015-2016 officers are: President Robert “Bob” Turner, Houston County; Vice President Kristina Hammer Blum, Gwinnett County; Second Vice President; Treasurer Glenda Dowling, Pierce County; Secretary Berryl Anderson, DeKalb County; and Immediate Past President Allen Wigington, Pickens County.

At a luncheon, the Council recognized a number of magistrates with awards including: Magistrate Judge of the Year: Judge Patricia Barron, Clarke County, and Judge Alan Harvey, DeKalb County; Workhorse of the Year: Judge Kristina Hammer Blum, Gwinnett County; Humanitarian Award: Judge Glenda Dowling; Lifetime Achievement Award: Judge David Wood, DeKalb County; and President’s Award: Judge Robert Turner, Houston County, and Justice Harold Melton, Supreme Court of Georgia.

The Council of Magistrate Court Judges is composed of Georgia’s approximately 500 magistrate judges.  Its mission is to improve the administration of magistrate courts, and to train and assist magistrates in the execution of their duties.  Council members meet twice a year to receive training from the Institute of Continuing Judicial Education and to conduct committee business.