Accountability Court Heroes Recognized

Atlanta, GA — On May 21, 2013, eight individuals were honored for their dedication to accountability courts in Georgia.  Judge Jason Deal, Superior Courts, Northeastern Judicial Circuit, presented the awards during the 2013 Accountability Courts Conference in Atlanta.


Awardees included: Judge Juanita Stedman, Cobb County Juvenile Drug Court and Family Drug Treatment Court; Walter Carmack, DeKalb County Rebound Drug Court; Andrew F. Cummings, DeKalb County Drug Court; Priscilla Daniels, Gwinnett County DUI, Drug, and Mental Health Courts; Kelly Jarrell, Mountain Judicial Circuit Drug Court; Tanya D. Jeffords, Augusta Judicial Circuit Adult Felony Drug Court; Ms. Erika Lockette, Muscogee Juvenile Drug Court; and Bayyinah Shaheed, DeKalb County Rebound Drug Court.


These “Accountability Court Heroes” were those who contributed in a special way to accountability courts by going above and beyond the call of duty.  Employees and stakeholders across the state were asked to nominate judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, probation staff, case managers, court administrators, treatment providers, and law enforcement officers who impacted the workings of accountability courts and their participant’s lives.